2017 Confederations Cup Teams Finalized

With their victory in 2017 AFCON Finals, Cameroon advances as the last team to the Confederations Cup held in Russia this summer.  The tournament, which represents a ‘dry-run’ for the 2018 World Cup, will also feature:
  • Russia – World Cup Hosts
  • Germany – 2014 World Cup Champion
  • Portugal – European ’16 Champions
  • Chile – CONEMBOL ’16 Champions
  • Mexico – CONCACAF ’16 Champions
  • New Zealand – OCEANIA ’16 Champions
  • Australia – Asian ’16 Champions
The tournament consists of 2 groups of 4. Everyone in the Group plays one another once. After all teams have played one another, the top 2 teams – based on total points –  from each group progress to the semi-finals.  This year’s groups are:
  • Group A: Russia, New Zealand, Portugal, Mexico
  • Group B: Germany, Chile, Australia, Cameroon

Was this post helpful?

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.